I Hate Monday

Do you know that Javanese people had found  the idiom ‘I hate Monday’ more than a century ago before the western did? Let’s take an amateur historical analysis.

In Javanese dictionary, we can find a word ‘diseneni’ that could mean being scolded every Senen (Monday).

This term might came at colonial era when labors were gathered every Monday and were scolded by their boss/foreman. This culture continued from regime to regime. And the rest is we still hear that javanese people sometimes say that they has just been ‘diseneni’ by someone.

 

Source of picture: http://kapina.net/sonea/2010/11/01/i-hate-mondays/

7 Responses to I Hate Monday

  1. danny dh says:

    the labors has only 3 days name in a week..
    monday, monday, monday, monday, monday, saturday and sunday…
    that means, in weekdays always monday to be “diseneni”..

  2. LOL – that is really a joke ;)
    PS : i borrow this article for Our Writing
    (on behalf of dapurpixel.com) ;)

  3. […] article I Hate Monday was started with, “Do you know that Javanese people had found  the idiom ‘I hate Monday’ […]

  4. Pina Girau says:

    looking for holydays…

  5. YOUR CSR DEVELOPMENT PARTNER…

    […]I Hate Monday « Our Indonesia[…]…

  6. Hmm it seems like your blog ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any tips for inexperienced blog writers? I’d really
    appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,318 other followers

